Spiced Brown Sugar Baked Chicken

This one is for you Peaceful Runner!
This is a quick prep meal and my kids gave it 2 thumbs up (and that isn’t always easy to do!)

Many of my friends want to know what some of my go-to recipes are. They especially want fast meals. I want to try to do 2 recipes a month but I make no promises 😉 This chicken recipe is super fast to prep ahead of time so that when you get home all you have to do is pop it into the pre-heated oven! Serve with some fruit and vegetables and you have a super yummy meal. WARNING: The smell is so divine, but your kids will think you are making pizza so prepare them ahead of time to avoid disappointment!
I got the original recipe here, but I have changed it VERY slightly.

 

Image

Spiced Brown Sugar Baked Chicken

I buy Harvestland brand chicken because so far none of my kids react to it so I know it is safe. The chicken is individually packaged and the breast are huge. I slice each in half (width wise) to get more normal size breasts and it doubles our portions! I also learned the larger packages are cheaper per pound than the smaller ones. I have no clue why. Needless to say I only have to buy chicken once a month!

Ok, enough chatting. Here is the recipe!

Image

Bigger packages of meat can be cheaper per pound so be sure to check!

Image

Just because it is smaller doesn’t mean it is cheaper. This is the same brand as the one above but is more per pound…weird.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, sliced in half to double
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons paprika
  • 2 teaspoons oregano
  • 2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • dash of cayenne pepper (we like spice in this house, omit if you aren’t into spicy)
    OR
  • dash of pepper (for those who don’t like it hot)
  • dash of salt  to taste (basically add what you think looks right.Careful not to add too much though or you will have a very salty meal)
    Image

    Mmmmm, here is the seasoning all mixed up.

    Image

    4 breasts sliced in half width and length wise. This fed my family of 7 no problem but with no leftovers. This is good though because we tend to forget about leftovers and they go bad.

    Image

    Ready to bake at 425 for 20-25 minutes

Instructions
  1. Mix brown sugar, paprika, oregano, garlic powder, cayenne pepper or pepper and salt in a glass mixing bowl
  2. Place chicken breasts in a baking dish and cover with half the mixture. Flip breasts and add the rest of the mixture. Cover dish and pop into fridge.
  3. Leave chicken in fridge for 1-3 hours (or even overnight) to absorb flavors.
  4. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Make sure you take the dish out of the fridge to warm up before putting in the oven. Uncover the chicken.
  5.  Bake for 20-25 minutes. (I bake for 25, but my current oven takes a bit longer to cook) Make sure your chicken is at least 165 degrees at its thickest point.Enjoy!

    Image

    The finished dish! This was Princess’ plate ❤
    Each child gets a different amount based on how much they can eat.

15 thoughts on “Spiced Brown Sugar Baked Chicken

  1. Just curious, what supplemental enzymes does your son take? How do you afford them?

    I have to take enzymes with every meal which sucks because they cost over $1,000 a month but thankfully we have insurance but we still end up paying pretty penny.

    This recipe looks so yummi!

    • Lucy, We were insanely lucky and had the unknown foresight to buy a bulk amount in advance of our move to the current state we live in. Insurance didn’t pay any of it. We paid cash during a time when we could do that. The ones my son takes are not nearly as expensive as yours! Holy smoke Girl! I am not sure how you pull that off but I pray the costs ease up for you! We are on our last bottle and I have been putting money aside since October to buy another bottle when this runs out.
      I really do not want to put exactly what he takes since that is his private medical information. Basic details are OK, but I am not comfortable going beyond that. I hope you understand 🙂

      We are also lucky that depending on the food he eats he doesn’t have to take them with every meal. We also are learning to better plan his snacks so he won’t have to take them with snacks. It is a learning experience for sure!

      • Thanks for the reply! I cannot imagine being a child and having to live with these restrictions and prescriptions. I rarely find others (on the internet and in real life) that have to take enzymes. I completely understand not wanting to put to much info out there!

        We are lucky our insurance covers a large chunk.

        I hope everyone is healthy and happy.

    • Not sure. I do not eat pig so I won’t try that , but I am planning on trying it with maple syrup and with honey instead of brown sugar,. It will make it a moist seasoning instead of a dry one, but I want other options based on what is in my pantry 🙂
      If you try it with other meat let us know how it is!

  2. I made this tonight — and it was fantastic! You’re right, a little cayenne pepper goes a long way. I put everything into a Ziploc bag and shaked it several times, and let it marinate over night. Served this with roasted broccoli…..popped both pans into the oven at the same time.

  3. I used two pans…..but I like your idea of cooking both the vegetable and the chicken in one pan. I am so glad that I only used a small amount of cayenne — you can really taste it! I’m going to try this recipe again, and throw some cinnamon into the mix — 🙂

    • OK, I read that weird then. 2 pans, check. Cinnamon is a great idea! Let me know how it turns out. I may have to try it. I am doing a different chicken dish tonight cooked in a similar fashion. I will post the recipe once we determine if it is worth it 🙂

Leave a comment