Millet Congee

Millet Congee is one of those recipes I randomly found years ago when I had an over abundance of millet. It is a fairly inexpensive meal, hearty, and full of your favorite fall flavors. This is almost a porridge. The sweet potatoes aren’t mushy, but nice and soft, and the apples are crisp and add that extra texture needed to make this a wonderful eating experience. My SPD kid has no trouble eating these textures.
The taste is sweet and savory rolled together. I add a pinch of cayenne pepper and I find it really brings this dish full circle.
This healthy comfort food is vegetarian (with a meat option for you carnivores) and free of all the top 8 food allergens, including corn. This is one of my kids’ favorite meals. I double the recipe for my family of 7. We do end up with leftovers. Leftovers are usually my lunch the next day or 2 so this is a good thing.  There are a few notes at the end, make sure you read them! When I add the honey at the end I just drizzle-pour it in so I do not have an accurate measurement. Always taste your food and add more salt, honey, etc as needed!

14656252_10211264479033970_4600052947248177883_n

Ingredients for my doubled recipe. I only used 2 apples.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hulled millet
  • 1-2 sweet potato peeled & diced (about 1 C)
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 5 cups broth, water, or a mixture of the 2
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp salt (I use Pink Himalayan)
  • 1-2 apples diced (about 1 C)
  • honey to taste ( about 1/4 C)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper (optional)

What Next?

  1. Rinse and drain the millet.
  2. Combine millet, liquid, sweet potato, ginger, cinnamon, and brown sugar, & salt in a deep pot.
  3. Bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stir often until the liquid is absorbed; about 1 hour.
  5. Remove from heat.
  6. Add apples & honey

Recipe Notes:

  1. If you choose you can add bacon crumbles tot he top. If you do this OMIT the salt! I add the salt to replace the bacon.
  2. My husband tossed a handful of raisins in bowl and really enjoyed it!
  3. If you would rather use your slow cooker, grease your cooker (trust me), reduce liquid by 1 cup, and cook on high for 2 to 2 1/2 hours.
    14666078_10211264487554183_1353491987399096458_n

    Millet Congee. 

    ~Andrea

Leave a Reply

