Loaded Potato Soup (Slow Cooker Recipe)

I have had several friends ask me for my Loaded Potato Soup recipe, so here it is! This is amazing! One of the best dishes I have ever made, maybe even the best! It is thick, creamy, hearty, and full of flavor. I hope y’all enjoy it as much as we do!

Prep: about 15 minutes
Cook time: varies; 4-8 hours (refer to step #3)

A few disclaimers:

*I stink at taking the time to do accurate measurements unless I am baking. My estimates are fairly spot-on, but they are not 100%. I will give you my best estimates of what I do, but you may need to adjust accordingly.

*This is NOT dairy-free (some of you expect this). Since my little Elf did her food challenge we can keep milk in the house with no issue. She still does not actually eat dairy though, so she gets Lentil Soup (which she loves).

*You do not have to use the same potatoes I did. Russets would work just as well. I have russets for a different dish this week though so I opted to use Yellow Yukon. The flavor was amazing!

*All of my ingredients (aside from the butter, starch, & salt) were bought at Aldi. This is not a disclaimer, but I thought you would like to know where to buy items 😀

*This is free of gluten, egg, soy, nuts (peanut & tree nut), seafood. Contains milk. This is vegetarian if you do not top with bacon.

*Excuse the picture quality. I was not originally intending on posting this recipe, but people went nuts for it!

14500683_10211055706014775_4977660750250806326_o

Loaded Potato Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 3-pound bag of Yellow Yukon potatoes; peeled & cubed (about 1/2”)
  • 3 stalks of celery; diced
  • 1 onion; diced
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic; minced (I used my garlic press)
  • (about) 1 ½ containers of Vegetable Broth (I use Aldi Simply Nature 32 oz carton)
  • ¼ C of butter (I use Earth Balance Soy-Free Buttery Spread)
  • (about) 1 C of grated Parmesan Cheese
  • (about) 3/4 of a 12-oz bag of Sharp Shredded Cheese
  • about ½ tsp white ground pepper (you can use black, I just didn’t want black specks)
  • 1 tsp salt (I used Pink Himalayan)
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ¼ tsp red pepper flakes
  • (about) 3T tapioca starch (do not add right away!)

Toppings:

  • plain Greek yogurt (you can use sour cream, but I recommend the yogurt)
  • (about) 1 C scallions; chopped (I keep scallions in my freezer in a plastic container so I always have them on hand. Buy, chop, freeze!)
  • shredded cheese (the rest of the bag from above)
  • red pepper flakes
  • bacon (I splurged and bought a nitrate-free package of bacon at Aldi. I baked it and then chopped it**)
  • whatever else you may like on your loaded potato

What Next?

  1. Make sure potatoes, celery, onion, and garlic are peeled, chopped, diced, minced, etc. and put them in your slow cooker.
  2. Add broth, butter, Parmesan Cheese, shredded cheese, pepper, salt, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes. Stir.
  3. Set slow cooker to HIGH and cook for about 4 hours OR
    Set slow cooker to LOW for 8 hours OR
    Set slow cooker to HIGH for 1 hour and turn to LOW for 6 hours (this is what I did)
  4. About 20-30 minutes before serving, add the Tapioca Starch to thicken the broth. I used a tablespoon at a time and lightly sprinkled the starch over the broth. I stirred to combine after each tablespoon for a total of 3x.
  5. Let it sit and cook and thicken for a little while prepping the toppings.
    *baking, cool, & chop bacon
    *chop scallions or pull them from freezer and place in a bowl
    *etc.
  6. Take your immersion blender (seriously, y’all need this kitchen staple. If you do not have one then use a potato masher, but it will be more work) and blend soup. I opted to leave it a bit chunky. I blended and stirred and checked and blended some more until it was the consistency I wanted (small chunks). I didn’t want super smooth and I didn’t wanted big chunks.
  7. Serve! Add some scallions, grated cheese, bacon pieces, and a dollop of Greek yogurt to the top and you have a beautiful dish!

**Baking bacon:
Put foil on baking pan (makes clean up easier), lay bacon on it, bake at 350 until crispy (about 20-30 minutes), turn the pan 180 halfway through baking time. Voila!

14500627_10211055716575039_6486272702407387233_o

Bon appetit!
~Andrea

5 thoughts on “Loaded Potato Soup (Slow Cooker Recipe)

  1. I miss our chats!!!! 😞 This is one of my FAVORITE soups…I have a similar recipe!! 😍 Msg me on FB or email me… 😀❤

    With Tons Of Love,
    Tami xoxoxo ❤❤❤

Leave a Reply

