Chicken with Black Beans, Tomato, and Spinach including Bonus Fajitas Seasoning Recipes

My kids can be seriously amazing for my self-esteem. At the same time they can be a bit too blunt. After trying yet another “mom creation” I got “There isn’t anything you have ever made I haven’t liked!”
Aw! Thanks guys!
“Wait, don’t forget about that one recipe. That one was gross.”
Then they go on to discuss said gross recipe until I have to remind them 99% of the time I succeed. Hahaha. It is all well meaning and I love that they are honest.

That all said here is what we ate last night. I very literally opened my cabinets and thought “Hm….I think I will try this” and proceeded to pull things out.
I am sharing this because it was wonderfully simple and everyone liked it. I was able to make it ahead and so the boys just popped it in the oven for me while I ran to pick Mark up from work. Make ahead meals are vital to us since we have swim team 5 nights a week and we are never home before 7:30. Some nights it is even later. OK, enough chatter, here you go!

Baked Chicken with Black Beans, Tomato, and Spinach (served 7)

Ingredients:

3 chicken breasts cut into tender-sized pieces
Fajita seasoning**
1 can diced tomato (use fresh if you have it, but I had canned at this time)
2 cans black beans (don’t forget to rinse these!)
2 packages fresh baby spinach
Red pepper flakes (optional)
Sea salt and pepper

  1. Place chicken in a baking dish and coat pieces with fajita seasoning. Add just a bit of water (1/2 cup at most). Bake at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes or until done.
  2. Put tomato, black beans, and spinach into a large skillet, cover. Cook on medium until spinach is wilted. (I literally covered and walked away as it cooked. I only stirred once).
  3. When the bean mixture is done add salt and pepper and red pepper flakes to taste.
  4. Place the bean mixture into a clean baking dish and add the cooked chicken to the top. Cover and place in fridge for later.
    OR
    Place bean mixture in a serving dish and add cooked chicken. Enjoy!
  5. When you are ready to re-heat the dish, place in a cold oven (this prevents the glass dish from cracking), turn oven to 350 degrees and heat for about 20 minutes or until hot.

    Chicken with Black Beans,  Tomato, and Spinach

    Chicken with Black Beans, Tomato, and Spinach

I served this with brown rice and grits (for Elf who is allergic to rice). I used 2 cups of dry rice for our family of 7. This meal was just the right size. There was enough for everyone. There were not leftovers, but we do not like left overs so this is perfect for us.

**I make my own fajita seasoning. It is so good. I store it in a small mason jar. Here is the recipe:

  • 2 ½ Tbs. Paprika
  • 2 Tbs. Pink Himalayan Salt
  • 2 Tbs. Garlic Powder
  • 1 Tbs. Pepper
  • 1 Tbs. Onion Powder
  • 1 Tbs. Cayenne
  • 1 Tbs. Dried Oregano
  • 1 Tbs. Dried Thyme
  • 1 Tbs. Cumin

    *I imagine you could make this vegetarian with tofu or some other substitute. If you do so please let me know how it turned out! We cannot do tofu (Elf is allergic), but I have friends who can and do and this would be helpful knowledge.

    ~Andrea

3 thoughts on “Chicken with Black Beans, Tomato, and Spinach including Bonus Fajitas Seasoning Recipes

Leave a Reply

