Christmas Decorations on a Dime

OK. OK. I spent more than a dime. However, I did manage to take the first step in achieving the holiday decorations I have always wanted. I see pictures of all these picture-perfect houses that look so joyous and beautiful. I am realistic though. I would simply like to achieve a coherent theme on a budget. There are so many color schemes that are gorgeous; blue and silver, red and green, gold and white….
I decided on a traditional red and white. It feels happy and festive to me.

First up was pulling out what I already had and taking inventory. Next was a trip to the local dollar store and last was a trip to a discount fabric store. I went with the attitude that I would spend under $20 because that is what I had very carefully saved over the last few months. I also went knowing that this was just a start. Next year I will add more.

Kitchens are hard to decorate. At least for me they are. I do not like clutter on my counters. It overwhelms me. That means nic-nacs are not an option. My kitchen is very small with very limited wall space so wreaths and pictures are also out. I decided to dress up the cabinets. I used ribbon, tape, and flowers. This was by far my most expensive decoration, however, it also was a complete room. I spent $12. I could have bought bunches of flowers and used wire cutters and cut them, but I really liked that these flowers came with clips on them. These will last longer and, to me, was worth the expense. My kitchen is a red and white festive zone and the only thing I did was decorate the cabinets! So simple!

2 rolls of wired ribbon and 10 flowers with clips. I opted for the sparky red poinsettias and white magnolias

2 rolls of wired ribbon and 10 flowers with clips. I opted for the sparky red poinsettias and white magnolias. This was where most of my budget went. Total $12.

Next up was our window seat in the living room. I have 3 pillows on it and I wanted Christmas pillows. Instead of buying new pillows (a huge expense) I found this idea on Pintrest. I only looked at fabric that was $1 a yard. That seriously narrowed down my choices, but I found some nice fabric that works perfectly. I needed a bit more than a yard each for my pillows so the cost was just under $4.

20141218_170020_1

Under $4 for a completely different look and a festive feeling!

We have an electric fireplace in the livingroom. I love the idea of a gorgeously decorated mantel, but I only had $4 left to my budget so I used what I already had on hand. I will tackle the mantel next year; something to look forward to.
I am still quite pleased with how cute it turned out though. The village was a Christmas gift years and years and years ago from Mark’s grandmother. The table cloth is a vintage piece my mom handed down to me. I added a large silver star ornament and my nice hard cover of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol to give it a more complete look.

Next year I will work on decorating the fireplace.

Next year I will work on decorating the fireplace. Total cost $0

I have a bookcase in the livingroom and there was one major design flaw; it is home to 2 purple vases. Vases I refuse to put away because I love them. I already had white, silver, and blue florals arranged in them; red did not look good with purple. I used my white Christmas table runner that is embroidered with red poinsettias and the snowmen someone gave me 11 years ago. I added crystal votives from my wedding and my grandmother’s picture (removed for this post and for privacy). It may not be a red and white showcase, but it works so nicely and is so beautiful I will not change it next year.

I used items I already had on hand. Total cost $0.

I used items I already had on hand. Total cost $0.

Years ago my very talented aunt made me a gorgeous bottle. It is displayed on a shelf across from my couch so I can look at it every night.

My favorite Christmas decoration; hand-painted by my talented and beautiful aunt. Cost $0

My favorite Christmas decoration; hand-painted by my talented and beautiful aunt. Cost $0

The stockings are hung with command hooks (spray painted gold to look nicer) on the wall and out of reach from Zen and Sunny. There is a simple “Merry Christmas” sign on our front door. The trees are decorated. We have a few other random decorations hung about. I spent less than my budget but taxes ate that up, so really I spent exactly what I planned and a lot less than most people do. I achieved a coherent look and the house looks lovely and inviting. I can’t wait to add to it next year! Who knows, maybe one day I will have a picture-perfect Christmas house. For now I am happy and content.

Merry Christmas!
~Andrea

6 thoughts on “Christmas Decorations on a Dime

  1. Thanks for sharing, you have a beautiful home and you’ve created a holiday that will provide wonderful memories for your family. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

