A Visit to Bass Pro

My mom came to visit in November. There was so much I wanted to do with her and there is a lot we never got to. One thing we did do was go to Bass Pro in Springfield. She has been wanting to go for quite some time and I was thrilled we finally had the chance to get her there.

If you have never been to Bass Pro then you need to know it is more than just a store. It is a museum and wildlife zoo also. You can see alligators, numerous fish species, ducks, and turtles. You can watch a scuba diver feed fish. There is an ammunition museum. You can learn to fish. There are numerous educational opportunities including homeschool classes and the elite WOLF program. The WOLF program is open to fifth graders in Springfield who qualify and fill out an application. They are picked via lottery. It is really  neat program that many hope will expand. There is so much to do and it is getting bigger. They have been under construction for 6 years now. They closed Wonders of Wildlife the summer we moved to MO. It is slated to re-open in March 2015. I am super excited for the opening. Check out their website to learn more.

So I brought my mom to Bass Pro. She was in awe, as I knew she would be. It is massive and impressive. Here are some of my more favorite pictures from the outing.

C-Dog taking a rest in one of the many trees inside Bass Pro

C-Dog taking a rest in one of the many trees inside Bass Pro

If you do not like mounted animals than I would not recommend a trip to Bass Pro. We found the lion especially impressive.

If you do not like mounted animals than I would not recommend a trip to Bass Pro. We found the lion especially impressive.

Elf and C-Dog checking out the turtles

Elf and C-Dog checking out the turtles

And now for my favorite picture of the day…..

The bear is eating me!!!! No worries, this is me being silly and my mom happened to snap the picture just in time.

The bear is eating me!!!! No worries, this is me being silly and my mom happened to snap the picture just in time.

Leave a Reply

