Christmas Wish List

My mom came to visit in November and we took advantage and brought her to Silver Dollar City in Branson. We were blessed with season passes this year.

We love Silver Dollar City. I especially love it at Christmas time. Nothing beats an Ozark Christmas. The lights are spectacular and the shows are top notch. We arrived at SDC and headed straight to the character meet and greet area. We were meeting Bumble and Rudolph. Later that evening we would meet Santa.

When the kids were done they saw a lovely little area where they could make a list for Santa. Most got mailed before I could read them, but I managed to snag C-Dog’s and I have to admit I got chocked up, but I thought it was just a passing moment.

C-Dog's letter to Santa 2014

C-Dog’s letter to Santa 2014

Later that evening we came back so the kids could meet Santa. I was sure C-Dog would tell Santa that he wanted a new Lego set or some other toy. When faced with “the big guy” one usually forgets about others and starts rattling off their favorite toy wants. I really don’t expect anything other than that. Instead, this is what I overheard.

Santa: “What would you like for Christmas?”
C-Dog: “I don’t really need anything. I have everything I could ask for. A family, a home…”
Santa: “There has to be something you want.”
C-Dog: “I just want everyone to be happy. I want kids to have homes. I don’t need anything else.”

Santa: “You know what. You are going to get a great gift picked special by me.”

They talked for a bit longer; longer than typical. The person taking pictures, my mom, myself, and Santa were all quite teary by the end.

He then handed C-Dog more candy canes than any other kid gets.

I added a top hat to C-Dog. He actually owns one and wears it quite a bit.

I added a top hat to C-Dog. He actually owns one and wears it quite a bit.

We all learned a lesson right then. We can talk about the true meaning of Christmas and we can talk about giving to others, however, we are still a materialistic world. The bright spot is there are people like C-Dog to bring us back to the bigger picture; helping others and being content with what we already have.

C-dog has an amazing capability to empathize deeply. I often compare him to Mother Teresa. Her love for people was staggering. C-Dog is following in her footsteps. This year my wish is for all of us to follow in their footsteps.

Merry Christmas
~Andrea

Leave a Reply

