The Washboard Part 3

My kids like to help me with household duties. They sweep, mop, dust, cook, and more. Zen watches us work as a team and has taken to participating. Normally this results in more mess, but how else would he learn? The chore Zen currently likes the most is laundry. Who can resist a tub full of water and a washboard that makes noise! Zen is our noisy boy. He loves all things noisy and creates “music” wherever he goes 🙂

I think it is very easy for adults to either think a child can’t help (too young) or simply do not want them to because they (the adult) can get the job done faster and more accurate. We are doing our children a disservice though when we have this mindset. They aren’t learning! How are they going to learn if we aren’t letting them try and gently guiding them. I have to admit I have to often hold my tongue and not intervene, but I am seeing continual progress. Best of all they are learning to clean the way I think is best 😉 Ha! 

So here is my challenge, let your kids do the house work with you. Show them how to use the kitchen correctly. Yes, my kids chop vegetables for me and I bet they hold the knife better than many adults. Teach them the best way to mop. Help them learn how to do laundry. You will be teaching them skills they will need as adults and you will have help getting the work done! Make sure you relax though because it isn’t going to be done perfectly. Let the memories and skills be made!

Image

 Image

7 thoughts on “The Washboard Part 3

  1. So true. I don’t have kids but I have the same philosophy and would like to carry it through to when I do have kids. And, how can you say no when they look so cute doing it!

  2. Oh yes, my son has been cooking with me since he was a year old, and could hammer a nail in accurately at 18 months. He got two saws from Father Christmas at the age of three. He is now 6, and cooks a meal a week for the family. Or, rather, he does some of it, gets bored and wanders off having given me instructions as to what to do next; but the thought is there!

Leave a Reply

