That Moment

That moment when you have 5 kids and a chocolate lab and you are packing to move the next day but your husband is several hundred miles away working so you are doing it alone. That moment when you are mumbling to yourself because you STILL do not know where you are going the next day. That moment when the skies open and it downpours as you are trying to get everything into the barn because you have no home yet so everything has to be out of the current house and stored. That moment when you look at the mess and boxes and overall disaster that can only mean you are in the last hours of the leaving process and you burst into tears. That moment when you are so angry that you feel like you are radiating the color red. And the tears flow and your children look at each other helplessly; not knowing what to do because Mommy usually has it under control.

That moment when there is a knock at the door and Mr P, the dear family friend who has been making sure we are taken care of during this crazy time, pops in. His presence is fairly powerful, but in a kind and fatherly way. Immediate calm and excitement flood the air as the kids jump up and down exclaiming “Mr P! Mr P!” Zen reaches out to him to be held. The kids adore him.
Mr P asks “What can I do? What needs to be done?”
I tell him I am cursing the rain as it has seriously hindered my ability to do anything seriously productive. I unload a bit. He listens.

He looks at the disaster and then there is that moment when words heal the radiating red moment from above.
“Leave everything that has to go into the barn and we we’ll make sure it gets moved in after you leave.”

THIS is humanity. THIS is generosity. This is kindness. This is amazing. Seemingly small, or maybe not small but certainly not huge, this gesture has completely taken a moment from radiating red to calming and grateful blue…Peace-filled.

You have no idea what small gestures can do to completely turn someone’s day around. The kids witnessed the power of this moment. I hope they never forget it, I know I won’t.

12 thoughts on “That Moment

  1. I would LOVE to keep in touch with you, you’re stories has moved me to tears & made my tummy hurt with laughter!! ♥♥ texasbomb1@gmail.com ….Thank you for blessing MY days with YOUR stories! ♥

    ~~Tami~~

  2. My heart breaks for you and your family. I cannot imagine what you are going through. I guess we all have our crosses to bear, but that certainly doesn’t make it easy or fair. I will be praying for you all. I so wish that there was something that I could do. If I had enough room for my own family, I would let you come stay with me. I can pray. Hard. God bless you all. He will come back to you, shining his light and love down upon you all. I think sometimes He loosens the reigns a bit to see what we will do, but He will pull you back in soon.

    • All the prayers are really what we need most! Pray we find a house. Right now I am in a hotel. I leave this weekend to stay with my parents for 3 weeks…..Not a fun situation at all.

Leave a Reply

