Gluten-Free Scone Recipe

I have been wanting a good scone recipe but it seems all my trials have failed. This week I am packing so I am cleaning out the fridge and freezer. I had 2 bags of fresh cranberries I had frozen. I desperately wanted to use them so I decided to try one last time to make scones. I think I nailed it as best I can considering the restrictions we have.This was a simple recipe and fairly quick to make; maybe 10 minutes at most. The kids L-O-V-E-D them! That means I get to share my recipe with you!

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Corn-Free, Soy-Free Orange Cranberry Scone Recipe

  • 2 cups GF baking flour (recipe at the bottom)
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder (make sure you are using a corn-free one if that is one of your restrictions!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter (I use this because both girls can eat it but I prefer this, although Princess can’t have it)
  • 3/4 cup orange juice (add about 1/2 first and rest only if needed. You do NOT want this too moist!)
  • half a bag of fresh cranberries (or less if you want and aren’t trying to get rid of food)

Blend together dry ingredients.
Cut in butter until it is crumbled.
Add in 1/2 cup orange juice, adding more slowly if needed.
A soft dough should form.
At this point you can follow a typical scone recipe and do this: Turn dough out on a floured board and knead for one minute. Pat into a circle on cookie sheet and cut into wedges.

I didn’t do that. I did this: Add cranberries and hand stir them in.
Plop dough onto parchment lined cookie sheet.

I made mine slightly bigger so I got 6. You can make them smaller though.

Bake at 425F for 10-15 minutes (until brown).
Image
While cooking I made a glaze. I used confectioner’s sugar and orange juice. Be careful not to add too much liquid!

Once I take them out I cool them about 5 minutes and add the glaze and eat them hot. I haven’t stored them so I have no clue how well they save.

Image

Gluten-Free Baking Flour Recipe
(I made this up based off of other recipes I had seen. Trial and error; this works for us)

  • 2 3/4 cups garbanzo bean flour
  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 2 1/4 cups arrowroot starch
  • 1 1/2 cups tapioca starch

Blend well and store in an air tight container. I keep mine in the fridge. Make sure you stir/shake before each use.

3 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Scone Recipe

  1. Hey! I am a Naturopathic Doctor and a RN. I have a child that had leaky gut syndrome and built antibodies to EVERYTHING she ate. I also have a child who is on the spectrum. I do biomedical treatment for autism and other neurological disorders. I wanted totell about imm. It is a biologically active protein that boosts glutathione levels. It has helped me and my family. My daughter no longer has any symptoms of allergies. My son is also doing great. My patients with autism are doing tremendous! This nutraceutical is awesome! I know you are looking for work and all, but it is worth looking into. Some doctors might even write a prescription for it. It is in the PDR. You can buy it directly from the company as well. It can also be a source of income for you as well. My whole family uses this. We prayed for a long time before finding this amazing nutraceutical. God bless and I hope this helps you and your family!

    • Oh! Really! We have seen natropathic doctors before, but had to stop because of financial constraints. I would love to talk to you about your prices. We don’t have a lot of money, but I will do anything legal to help my kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

