Homemade “Soy” Sauce

We can’t eat soy. Elf is allergic to it. The concept of Chinese take-out is a bit foreign (no pun intended) to my kids. For some reason I find that sad. I fondly remember sitting around the table as a family and digging into those little white containers and eating that yummy goodness. I wanted my kids to have a similar memory. I knew it wouldn’t be the same, but it didn’t mean it couldn’t be special. So my husband and I started compiling homemade Chinese food recipes. The big problem is almost all the recipes call for soy sauce. What is a girl to do???
Well this girl creates a “soy” sauce recipe!

I have three versions. I use each one for different recipes because, although they each have a very similar taste, there is a slight difference and I like that I can make recipes have different undertone flavors. You will notice they are very similar and the cooking and storage instructions are the same.

“Soy” Sauce Recipe #1
1 cup beef stock
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons cider vinegar (I use this brand)
1 tablespoon PLUS 1 teaspoon blackstrap molasses (you could use regular but I much prefer the blackstrap molasses in this recipe)
pinch of white pepper, garlic powder and ground ginger (I use fresh garlic and fresh ginger, finely minced.I do not use a whole clove!)
salt of choice (I use sea salt) to taste

Add all of the ingredients, minus the salt, to a pan and bring to a gentle simmer. Keep it at the gentle simmer until it reduces to about 2 cups. season with salt to desired preference. This will last 10 days in the refrigerator.

“Soy” Sauce Recipe #2 (Vegan)

1/2 cup tart cherry juice
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons cider vinegar (refer to above link to see which one I prefer)
1 tablespoon PLUS 1 teaspoon blackstrap molasses (I highly recommend sticking with this type for this recipe. It tastes best)
pinch of white pepper, garlic powder and ground ginger ( I have not used fresh garlic and ginger in this recipe, but I will next time I make it)
salt of choice to taste

Add all of the ingredients, minus the salt, to a pan and bring to a gentle simmer. Keep it at the gentle simmer until it reduces to about 2 cups. season with salt to desired preference. This will last 10 days in the refrigerator.

“Soy” Sauce Recipe #3 
1 cup vegetable stock
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar (note this uses a different vinegar than the above 2!)
2 teaspoons cider vinegar (I use this brand)
1 tablespoon PLUS 1 teaspoon blackstrap molasses (you could use regular but I much prefer the blackstrap molasses in this recipe)
pinch of white pepper, garlic powder and ground ginger (I use fresh garlic and fresh ginger, finely minced.I do not use a whole clove!)
salt of choice (I use sea salt) to taste

Add all of the ingredients, minus the salt, to a pan and bring to a gentle simmer. Keep it at the gentle simmer until it reduces to about 2 cups. season with salt to desired preference. This will last 10 days in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!
~Andrea

7 thoughts on “Homemade “Soy” Sauce

  1. Kudos to 3 great recipes! If you want to get even more authentic, party supply stores have the take-out containers like the Chinese restaurant. They’re inexpensive and would add to the fun of a Chinese meal! Add chopsticks, too!

  2. I love your blog you always mention church and God what church if I may ask? I really like your sugar baked chicken
    Dale

    • I believe the basic Christian doctrine. Jesus is the son of God, died, rose again, Saved us….OK that was seriously watered down 🙂 I do not hold to any one denomination. I was raised Catholic, went to a Christian and Missionary Alliance church, Methodist, Baptist, Lutheran, Assembly of God….
      I pick my churches based on their actions. Are they giving to the community? Are they excluding people (a big no-no IMO). What exactly are they preaching? Right now I go to a lovely Baptiste church who have been Christ in my life. They gave us this temporary home, made sure my bills are being paid, and best of all while Mark is in a different state they have been coming over several times a week to simply check on me and make sure I am OK.

  3. Thank you! I have been gluten free for years and have recently gone egg free, soy free & dairy free among others. Your recipe #1 is very close to the one I have been using but mine uses concentrated beef bullion and tastes quite beefy. I’m looking forward to trying yours to see how it compares.

  4. Hi, have you ever tried coconut aminoes? That is what paleo peeps use in place of soy. Takes just a little, and it goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

