South Carolina BBQ Sauce

Sauces, marinades, and dressings of any kind are hard to buy for my family. Almost all have soy and/or corn in them. Whether oil or syrup, soy and corn are in practically all pre-packaged items! To make matters worse if they aren’t organic or GMO-Free certified then they are most definitely GMO; something we try to avoid as much as possible. The brands that omit these items tend to be quite expensive and I just cannot justify the cost. As a result I have become quite skillful at creating tasty and affordable substitutes.

This past week we had chicken…again. Chicken is fairly affordable right now so that is what my carnivorous minions get. I try to mix it up so we aren’t eating the same recipes week in and week out. They love BBQ but have never tried South Carolina BBQ. For those who don’t know this is NOT a tomato based BBQ sauce. It definitely falls under the “new and different” category.

I did realize *after* this recipe was made that the butter substitute we use has corn-derived items in it. Darn it. That is what I get for not re-reading the label and just assuming it was still safe for all kids. The revelation of Princess’ corn allergy is fairly new to us so I am still learning. I found this recipe online for a vegan butter that is corn and soy free. I think I will try it out.

I served up the South Carolina BBQ Chicken to my kids and much to their own surprise they loved it! They gave me a hard time about it and I had to pull out the adage “you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.” Bug, being the elder and the peacekeeper tried to smooth it over by saying “Well, at least it looks good.” All had seconds. Ha! Mark says it is a keeper so I decided that means I need to share the recipe.

This makes enough for 2 batches of chicken for my family. That is about 2.5 pounds of chicken total. If you are a smaller family this will stretch for more meals. It is better if you make it in advance and marinate the meat for a few hours.

Ingredients:
1 C mustard of choice (this time around I used Dijon because that is what I had. I plan to use honey mustard next time)
1 C apple cider vinegar (I highly recommend Braggs. It is superior in flavor and worth it)
1/3 C light brown sugar (I recommend using coconut sugar. It is healthier and low on the glycemic index making it safe for diabetics)
1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper (I used 3/4 tsp because we like spice in this house)
1 T unsalted butter (I used a dairy-free, soy-free butter substitute)

Directions:
1. Whisk together all of the ingredients, except the butter, in a sauce pan. Bring it to a simmer and then reduce the heat to low.

2. Add the butter and turn off the heat. Allow the sauce to stand and thicken.

3. If you aren’t going to use the sauce right away let it reach room temperature before transferring it to a container with a tight lid. Refrigerate. This will keep for 1 week.

South Carolina BBQ Sauce

South Carolina BBQ Sauce

This recipe was fast and easy to make. The prep was maybe 5 minutes tops and the cooking time was about 10 minutes because you have to let it stand.
Try it and let me know what you think!

One thought on “South Carolina BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

