The Chair

I am not sure why but Zen has been restless in his sleep this past week. On an average night he starts out in the cradle and then makes his way into bed at half past very late to nurse. He usually then stays cozy in my arms until about 7:30. No, I do not sleep until 7:30, although that would be awesome. I sneak my arm away Ross-style (if you have ever watched Friends you should totally understand the reference. If you haven’t, well, maybe you need to) and he stays asleep for about an hour or so after I get up.

This past week he has not stayed cozy in my arms. He has been restless. He has tossed and turned, flipped, rolled, sat up (yes while asleep), laid on me, laid on Mark, and sleep crawled…into the wall.

The crazy thing is he keeps doing it. Seriously one would think that even in your sleep if you crawl into a wall you would stop trying to go forward. He keeps it up while we clumsily try to stop him in our sleepy-eyed state. I can’t decide if I am amused by this or not. He isn’t hitting hard enough to hurt himself, but one would think it can’t be great for him either. However, if you could see the silly lad crawling on our bed straight into the wall you would probably chuckle.

It was 2 AM.  Zen flipped, tossed, flopped onto Mark’s face (yes I laughed), and then sleep crawled into the wall yet again I decided this was ridiculous. I gathered him up and he and I sat in the living room in The Chair. It is our sanctuary. The Chair is where we sit when it is time for some snuggles, drive-by loves, breastfeeding snacks, breastfeeding meals, and naps. I always put him to sleep in The Chair. When Zen is done with me it is where Mark puts him to sleep. The Chair is magical. OK, maybe it really isn’t magical but Zen knows it and associates it with coziness. It is an old beast but The Chair is a part of the family.

Sure enough as soon as I got settled into The Chair Zen slept peacefully in my arms while I dozed. Thankfully The Chair is large and soft so sleeping in it isn’t as bad as it could be. I was fine until I got cold. By then it was nearly 7. I made my way back to bed and was greatly annoyed that Elf was in my bed. I kicked Mark’s foot to wake him so he could removed the child (read “the child” with a note of disdain because I was so not amused that she was in my bed. The rule is she is welcome in our room but she has to stay on the floor.)

I climbed into bed which was no easy feat as C-Dog was on the floor on my side of the bed. Apparently Zen wasn’t the only restless child in the wee hours of sleep. I laid down and not a minute later Zen became restless again. ERG! I did doze until about 7:30 while Mark tried to deal with Zen, but I finally just got up. I brought him back to The Chair. The Magical Chair. He settled into my arms and I could feel tension slip away from him. At this point it was late enough in the morning that he was not going to go back to sleep so we simply cuddled for a bit and I looked into his saucer-wide blue eyes.

He is now happily crawling and playing. He has been all over the house. He has even stopped for a drive-by snack as I sit and type this. I am exhausted. I have no idea where his energy is coming from. I am slightly jealous and sightly in awe.

I have no clue what is wrong with Zen. I have no clue why he sleep crawls. Weirdo. The only thing I know is that at 2 AM I was not annoyed. Sure being tired sucks. Having a restless baby is no fun. However, I love this little guy. He is the product of something beautiful. I hate to see him not getting the rest his little body needs. I was grateful for his warm snugly body. I was thankful The Chair worked. This is a short season. I will treasure it. I know too well how fast the years go. It seems only yesterday Bug was snugly in my arms and now he rolls his eyes and wears trendy cloths. Sigh.

To the new Mommas out there, you are not alone. We understand you are tired and frustrated. It is so cliche, but it it true that the days are long and the years are really short. Deep breath. You can do this. To all the Mommas whose babies are grown, take a moment and appreciate the fact you made it! Congratulations! Now go get some sleep! To all the women who do not have children, please be patient. We understand you cannot fathom our lives but please still be a part of our lives. Parenting takes a lot of energy. We need you to be there for us to remind us that there is a whole entire world beyond The Chair.

Image

13 thoughts on “The Chair

  1. Awwhhhh great post! Can totally relate too, although mine are still little I can start to see this in M lately. *hugs*

  2. I love how this is written! Too often parents get frustrated when their kids won’t sleep, but it’s not every night that you get to fall asleep with a snuggly baby in your arms, and THAT is perfection. Look at the positives, always:)

  3. I’m an older mom with a new little babe (6mos). I just snuggling her, and know this time won’t last. She had a cold a few weeks ago, and I had to sleep with her sitting in my lap a few nights so she could breath — I didn’t sleep that well, but oh — I still loved it.

    I love how this was written — special chairs, special memories. 🙂

  4. It seems mine slept hard and soft with the different stages of growing they were in. When they were young, I blamed it on physical and as they got older, hormonal. When I would get worn out and in dire need of sleep, I would take them out for a full day of activity. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t.
    I found your blog by the receipt entry. We were out of a job from last April until Dec 4th. Tough, tough, tough. Mine are much, much older and I thanked God for that. We didn’t ever get to the point of despair, but I do understand from younger years.
    The way the job market is now is so foreign to anyone our age is used to. Where have the days gone when you could make a stack of resumes, walk into an office, speak with a manager and get hired on the spot? Now after months and months of playing the “send us your resume” game, my husband is still getting recruiters calling him. Where were they back in May? I just don’t get it.
    My prayers are with you, and I will start following you.

  5. I VERY fondly remember “The Chair”. Our daughter was/is asthmatic so there were MANY MANY nights that “The Chair” was the ONLY way she could get any rest because as soon as you laid her down she would start to cough then that would bring on an attack. Either my husband or I would bring this coughing and hacking child out to “The Chair” and she would cuddle into your chest, as she would later tell us “I like the boom boom in there” in other words she lulled to the sound of our heartbeat. When she got older I would feel a gentle touch on my cheek and awake to her asking to go to “The Chair” as she knew her chest was heavy and an attack was coming if she wasn’t upright, off we went to “The Chair” Our daughter is now 22yrs old living in her own place with her fiance but when we went for Christmas, there in the corner of the living room was her very own “The Chair” The guys came out the next morning to find mother and daughter cuddled up sound asleep in “The Chair” You are NEVER too old to cuddle with your child.

    • Oh! I love it! Thank you for sharing! Did your daughter’s asthma get better with age? I ask only because I used to have asthma. Very oddly it “cured” when I got pregnant, then came back, then “cured with my third pregnancy and I haven’t had an issue since. I always wonder if other people “grow out of it” also.

  6. Pingback: Morning | True Stories of a Midwest Yankee

Leave a Reply

